top of page

Open Borders

6D5A1972 carré web.jpg

Armel Dupas, a modern-day troubadour

“Travelling as an eternal source of inspiration.”

 

If humans can only define themselves in reaction to their surroundings, is it not up to the artist to go here and there, carrying their stories, creating connections? As soon as he placed his hands on the Keybird piano, Armel knew he would be back on the road.

 

A tireless creator, he continues his musical exploration in a new solo program called Open Borders. Composed on his new mobile instrument, Open Borders paints the portrait of a young forty-year-old in search of meaning and inner peace.

 

To fully experience this modern-day troubadour adventure, Armel and his piano are leaving in April 2024 for a 4-month, 8,000 km tour of Europe.

Open Borders, the fruit of happy coincidences

“This music is the consequence of a profound inner change of which I am both the actor and the witness: although a return to my sources in 2020 had opened my consciousness to the existence of a subtle world, I was still finding myself faced with the ghosts of the past, as if I was clinging to my limitations.

 

Those four years of staying away from the tumult of the world, observing the cycle of seasons, lead me to a decisive act of cutting invisible links, of manifesting my change in vibration: I had to free myself from that part of my work which kept bringing me back to difficult episodes .

 

I took advantage of a concert to say goodbye to the melodies which had been representing me as a composer for more than ten years. I played them one last time with tenderness, while I imagined putting on hold my journey as a solo pianist.

 

So, the following week, on my Keybird piano I assembled a few ideas that had been laying scattered here and there. I witnessed, to my greatest astonishment, the birth of a new repertoire of 11 titles fully anchored in the present. Their musical and emotional validity were unveiled to me a few days later during a last-minute concert.

 

Synchronicities?”

“For the first time, I have the feeling of playing something that really resonates with me, without too strong an external influence, without trying to please or convince.

 

“Open Borders” finds its reflection in my life today. I travel across Europe with my Bulgarian partner to meet a mobile piano produced by a Belgian in Denmark. We ride freely, without borders.

 

I go and meet those who are liberated from the cultural codes and mental limitations of another time. We share a love of music and attach no importance to labeling it jazz, pop, or neo-classical. “Open Borders”!

 

The recording of this album was done in conditions just as surprising and fluid as its conception. I made an appointment for January 27, 2024 at Peninsula Studio in Sarzeau (FR) to do some tests with a view to a future recording with my trio. In the last minute, I decided to take my Keybird and invite the attentive and caring ear of my pianist friend Pierre Van de Walle.

 

We set up the microphones, enjoyed a piece of cake and started recording: “We'll see!..” 3 hours later, almost all in one take, the 11 tracks were in the box!”

Vignette Open Borders 2.jpg

The Keybird piano & the sound of the album

The work of a brilliant inventor based in Copenhagen, this portable acoustic piano opens up perspectives for pianists in search of new sensations. “It’s the piano of degrowth.”

 

A wooden frame, Una Corda (one string per note), light and easy to tune, we instantly recognize its crystalline timbre, differentiable from the traditional piano. Armel chooses to play it with a felt which softens the sound: “It’s the instrument that inspires me the most today for soloing. Sometimes resembling folk guitar, harp or harpsichord, I look for acoustics that highlight that. I’m learning to tune it myself, I feel like I’m discovering the piano thanks to the Keybird.”

 

The sound recording of the album (engineering by Jonathan Marcoz, mixing by Moritz Bintig, mastering by Julien Climent) give an acoustic image that most closely represents the real sound of the instrument played by Armel whose breathing we can hear. 

 

There is a feeling of deep intimacy with the artist.

Organize your event featuring Open Borders

A unique experience to share with your entourage

bottom of page

top of page

Open Borders

6D5A1972 carré web.jpg

Armel Dupas, troubadour des temps modernes

“Le voyage comme éternelle source d’inspiration.”


Si l’humain‧e ne peut se définir qu’en réaction à ce qui l’entoure, ne serait-ce pas à l’artiste d’aller ici et là, créer du lien en racontant les histoires qu’il porte en lui ? Dès qu’il posa les mains sur le piano Keybird, Armel sut qu’il serait de retour sur les routes.

Créateur infatigable, il poursuit son exploration musicale dans un nouveau programme solo baptisé Open Borders (frontières ouvertes). Composé sur son nouvel instrument mobile, Open Borders dresse le portrait d’un jeune quarantenaire en quête de sens et de paix intérieure. 

 

Pour vivre pleinement cette aventure de troubadour des temps modernes, Armel et son piano partent en avril 2024 pour un tour d’Europe de 4 mois et 8000 km.

Open Borders, le fruit d’heureux hasards

“Cette musique est la conséquence d’un profond changement intérieur dont je suis à la fois acteur et témoin : alors qu’un retour aux sources en 2020 avait ouvert ma conscience à l’existence d’un monde subtil, je me retrouvais toujours face aux fantômes du passé, comme accroché à ce qui m’entrave.

 

Quatre années loin du tumulte à observer le cycle des saisons me conduisent à concevoir un acte fort pour couper des liens invisibles, pour manifester mon changement de vibration : je dois me libérer de cette partie de mes œuvres qui me ramène sans cesse à des épisodes difficiles. 

 

Je profite d’un concert pour faire mes adieux aux mélodies qui m’avaient fait connaître en tant que compositeur sur plus d’une dizaine d’années. Je les joue une dernière fois avec tendresse, imaginant mettre entre parenthèses mon cheminement de pianiste solitaire.

 

C’est alors que la semaine suivante, j’assemble sur mon piano Keybird quelques bribes d’idées semées ça et là. J’assiste, à mon plus grand étonnement, à la naissance d’un nouveau répertoire de 11 titres pleinement ancrés dans le présent. Leur validité musicale et émotionnelle me sera donnée quelques jours plus tard lors d’un concert organisé à la dernière minute. 

 

Synchronicités ?”

“Pour la première fois, j’ai la sensation de jouer quelque chose qui me ressemble vraiment, sans influence extérieure trop prégnante, sans chercher à plaire ou à convaincre.

 

“Open Borders” trouve son reflet dans ma vie d’aujourd’hui. Je sillonne l’Europe avec ma compagne bulgare à la rencontre d’un piano mobile produit par un belge au Danemark. Nous roulons librement, sans frontières. 

 

Je vais à la rencontre de celles et ceux qui s’affranchissent des codes culturels et des limitations mentales. Nous partageons l’amour de la musique et n’accordons aucune importance à lui coller une étiquette jazz, pop ou néo-classique. “Open Borders” !

 

L’enregistrement de cet album s’est fait dans des conditions tout aussi surprenantes et fluides que sa conception. J’avais pris rendez-vous un 27 janvier 2024 au Peninsula Studio à Sarzeau (56) pour quelques tests en vue d’un futur enregistrement avec mon trio. In extremis, je décide d’emporter mon Keybird et de convier l’oreille attentive et bienveillante de mon ami pianiste Pierre Van de Walle.

 

Nous posons les micros, dégustons une galette et lançons l’enregistrement : “On verra !..” 3 heures plus tard, pratiquement tous fixés dès la première prise, les 11 titres sont dans la boîte.

Vignette Open Borders 2.jpg

Le piano Keybird & la prise de son de l’album

Œuvre d’un génial inventeur basé à Copenhague, ce piano acoustique portable ouvre des perspectives pour les pianistes en quête de nouvelles sensations. “C’est le piano de la décroissance.”

 

Cadre en bois, Una Corda (une corde par note), léger et facile à accorder, on reconnaît instantanément son timbre cristallin, différenciable du piano traditionnel. Armel choisit de le jouer avec une sourdine qui adoucit le son : “C’est l’instrument qui m’inspire le plus aujourd’hui pour le solo. Tantôt guitare folk, harpe ou clavecin, je cherche les acoustiques qui le mettent en valeur. J’apprends à le régler moi-même, j’ai l’impression de découvrir le piano grâce au Keybird.”

 

La prise de son de l’album par Jonathan Marcoz, le mixage par Moritz Bintig et le mastering par Julien Climent donnent une image acoustique la plus proche du son réel de l’instrument joué par Armel que l’on entend respirer. 


Se dégage une sensation d'extrême intimité avec l’artiste.

Organisez votre concert

Une expérience unique à partager avec votre entourage.

bottom of page